Author Topic: My first terrain  (Read 11465 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

OlaHaldor

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio / Blog
My first terrain
« on: October 12, 2013, 12:43:32 AM »
This is my first terrain I've designed from scratch and brought over to LightWave 3D. It was built in 4096x4096. Exported height map, color map, flow map, wear map and deposition. And somehow mixed most of them into the surface in LightWave.

Quite happy with the result overall. Will try to make a snow version of the same terrain later.
I'm not happy about the flat part on the top of the mountain though. I'd like to have a peak, but whatever I did, it just wouldn't make one. I'm looking into it.

I'm looking for a solution to use splat maps in LightWave. If anyone have a good idea, let me know!
« Last Edit: October 12, 2013, 12:48:51 AM by OlaHaldor »
Windows 10 Pro | i7 5960x | 128GB RAM | 2XGTX Titan

OlaHaldor

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio / Blog
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2013, 02:00:39 AM »
Noticed I had forgot to add the Wear map in the image I attached.
New image attached, with wear map applied.
Windows 10 Pro | i7 5960x | 128GB RAM | 2XGTX Titan

OlaHaldor

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio / Blog
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2013, 03:38:42 PM »
I tried upping it to 8K resolution. Took a while to build. Almost 9 hours to be exact. But it added some nice subtle details.
Compressed JPEG attached. If you want to see an uncompressed PNG.. 7MB.
Windows 10 Pro | i7 5960x | 128GB RAM | 2XGTX Titan

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #3 on: October 13, 2013, 10:06:37 PM »
i see u have edge problem in your far side, i have the same one in maya and blender. did u try using mesh mode? anyways, nice render and texturing!!!

OlaHaldor

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio / Blog
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2013, 12:49:51 AM »
Thanks. Yes I've used the same subpatched object for other landscapes which had a non-square heightmap, so it wasn't a 1:1 fit of the heightmap and textures.
For the time being I prefer to use subpatched objects for terrain as the exported .obj can be very heavy.

With subpatched objects I can work in a very low resolution version while I'm figuring out lighting and cameras, much like you preview the terrain before a build.
Once I hit RENDER, the render engine will bump the resolution of the terrain up a few notches and it looks better.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2013, 12:51:42 AM by OlaHaldor »
Windows 10 Pro | i7 5960x | 128GB RAM | 2XGTX Titan

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 359
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #5 on: October 18, 2013, 02:07:28 AM »
did you import a dem map as file input? cause i get the feeling i've seen this terrain profile before... nice texturing! did you do it in lightwave or wm???

OlaHaldor

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio / Blog
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #6 on: October 18, 2013, 04:46:21 AM »
No, this is entirely made up in WM. I used the Extended Overlay macro to generate textures, and exported all of the different maps to image files to test and combine in LightWave, where I rendered using a HDR sky and a directional light.
Windows 10 Pro | i7 5960x | 128GB RAM | 2XGTX Titan

Ahumata

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #7 on: October 29, 2013, 12:07:35 AM »
Really enjoying how it looks, how the texturing gives off a very clean and sharp "videogamey" effect.

Lorne

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #8 on: December 02, 2013, 08:45:22 PM »
If you want to fix those edges, you probably just need to set your file input to stretch at the borders rather than repeat.

In Maya, this is accessed on the Place2dTexture node by turning off Wrap U and Wrap V. Not sure about Lightwave.

mrfish

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2014, 02:13:33 PM »
Hi,

About those edges, I use Modo and in the UV settings I changed the 'repeat' to 'reset' and that fixed the problem. Not sure what they would come under in Maya or any other 3D package but I'm sure its the same thing.

OlaHaldor

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio / Blog
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2014, 05:00:19 AM »
Windows 10 Pro | i7 5960x | 128GB RAM | 2XGTX Titan

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2014, 06:06:33 AM »
Great, thanks a lot for sharing with the community  :D

Cheers!

e2clipse

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
  • I wuz a wizzard
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2014, 06:27:23 AM »
Looks rather nice :)
I got 2 small points of interest
Why didnt you add a small beach that would grasp the toes of those ridges by the water?
And theres a little kinda reflectivness right between the grass/muddy area..

I do like it! Keep it up
If you are reading this your wasting your time :D

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2014, 07:21:19 AM »
Ok and so I combined the colorizing of your (@OlaHaldor) terrain with a brand new macro http://forum.world-machine.com/index.php?topic=2605.0 from e2clipse...

here are the results of a 10x10km terrian @2k res:


Cheers!

e2clipse

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
  • I wuz a wizzard
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2014, 07:25:05 AM »
They look nice :shock: both of them,though the carved one has more details on the rocks :)
Maybe a litte PQualizer to get those spikes out?
If you are reading this your wasting your time :D

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #15 on: May 27, 2014, 08:16:00 AM »
Japp-will use your Equalizer for that :) and post again!
« Last Edit: May 28, 2014, 02:39:44 AM by Onkelpoe »

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #16 on: May 28, 2014, 02:39:22 AM »
EQ is not working atm... waiting for update  :P

Meanwhile, I added a coastline and "real" water to the terrain:


Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #17 on: May 28, 2014, 04:14:10 AM »
And here a "hell-ish" Version without water:


Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #18 on: May 28, 2014, 06:13:51 AM »
Changes sand-color and uses e2clipse "PQualizer" on it...

Would be cool, if the "PQ-Frequency-height" setting would be a bit more sensitive to cut away only the small peaks, instead
of smoothing it all up...

Cheers!

e2clipse

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 234
  • I wuz a wizzard
    • View Profile
Re: My first terrain
« Reply #19 on: May 28, 2014, 07:01:27 AM »
The height
The amount
And especially the type of filter used makes a lot of difference
Inverted filter and filter strenght set to 28 or a little more might give you what u are looking for?
If you are reading this your wasting your time :D