Author Topic: Undo is always greyed out  (Read 3794 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

agrisdale

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Undo is always greyed out
« on: March 09, 2014, 06:36:46 PM »
Does anyone else find that undo and redo are permanently greyed out and unusable? Im just starting evaluating the software for a major feature film and this is pretty much a showstopper right out of the box! 

jaf

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #1 on: March 10, 2014, 04:08:55 PM »
Same here.  I also notice many of the value input boxes (verses using the slider) won't take inputs.  These must be bugs that were introduced in the recent build.

Remnant

  • Author
  • World Machine Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 2311
    • View Profile
    • http://www.world-machine.com/
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #2 on: March 10, 2014, 04:28:47 PM »
Unfortunately, Undo/Redo is not supported at the moment. I'm sorry to hear that its a showstopper for you! Since the device editing box is modal, it gives you a crude sort of undo -- if you don't like your changes, you can simply cancel the dialog. Not ideal, but better than nothing.

Jaf, this lack has actually always been true -- this is mostly because back in WM's 32bit days there were some resource consumption issues that had to be ironed out and so Undo/Redo was disabled until it could be addressed. Of course, years later, this is no longer a problem.  It will certainly be re-introduced again at some point; its just a matter of priority.
-- Stephen Schmitt
- Creator of World Machine

agrisdale

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #3 on: March 10, 2014, 09:16:14 PM »
When Im in the node editor I can live with it. When im in the layout generator its a big problem. So let me rephrase: the layout generator is not useable for us without an undo.

ScotKinney

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2014, 07:29:18 AM »
I second this sentiment. We need the undo.

tolls

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2014, 01:17:16 AM »
Same here guys, I'm doing a lot of work in the Layout Generator and get really frustrated sometimes with no undo. I am fairly new to WM though and learning ways around some problems.

sundevildave

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #6 on: September 03, 2014, 07:20:06 AM »
*slaps head* I thought I was missing some check box for enable undo. I too also need it in layout editor mostly. That this little feature is broken really inhibits experimentation that is an ingrained workflow for artists; change change change...sucks...ctrl-Z ctrl-Z ctrl-Z

mr_bbmz

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #7 on: September 03, 2014, 08:08:33 AM »
Quote
That this little feature is broken really inhibits experimentation that is an ingrained workflow for artists; change change change...sucks...ctrl-Z ctrl-Z ctrl-Z

Yep, I can only second that. World Machine is often not especially easy to work with, and the absence of undo/redo really makes things even more complicated.

Remnant

  • Author
  • World Machine Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 2311
    • View Profile
    • http://www.world-machine.com/
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #8 on: September 03, 2014, 12:17:23 PM »
I hear you guys. I will be bumping proper undo support to the top of the priority list thanks to your feedback!
-- Stephen Schmitt
- Creator of World Machine

mr_bbmz

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #9 on: September 04, 2014, 02:29:39 AM »
Great news, thank you! I think many people will be very happy to hear that. :)

Hotshot

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 237
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #10 on: September 04, 2014, 07:30:38 AM »
Thank you . I mostly need it in the Layoutgenerator...

raincity

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #11 on: February 22, 2016, 12:07:23 AM »
Has there been any progress in adding undo/redo functionality? My WM 2 standard is still showing this greyed out.

Would really like to have this ability. Thanks, and great program.

sfriedberg

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
Re: Undo is always greyed out
« Reply #12 on: February 23, 2016, 03:40:32 AM »
The Dev version (River) has undo support, although I haven't exercised it very much.  If we ever see Remnant again  :(  I'm sure the feature will migrate eventually into the main line version of WM.