Author Topic: pan in 3d view  (Read 3384 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

LaFrance

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
pan in 3d view
« on: January 28, 2015, 08:12:20 AM »
an emphatic +1 for true panning ability in the 3d viewer. at the very least, changing the up and down arrows to pan up and down
vs. zooming/moving forward would be extremely useful.

OlaHaldor

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio / Blog
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2015, 12:33:09 AM »
I think going the route as many other 3D apps do would be perfect.

ALT + LMB
ALT + RMB
ALT + MMB

All these do all the zoom, pan and rotate. If not exactly like this.. Make more possible to do with the mouse.
Windows 10 Pro | i7 5960x | 128GB RAM | 2XGTX Titan

unitycoder

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #2 on: September 10, 2015, 12:32:07 PM »
yes, all 3D view modes should have proper pan/orbit+orbit around point/free fly etc. modes as in any 3D viewer or modeler packages

Tangled-Universe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2015, 07:40:42 AM »
This has been requested several times before, but it seems it doesn't impress much and that's curious, as it severely limits the way you can inspect the very product of the software itself.

I don't understand why this still doesn't get some attention and priority.
« Last Edit: September 14, 2015, 07:32:43 AM by Tangled-Universe »

pokoy

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2015, 05:02:43 AM »
Yes, this would be very welcome.

I also sorely miss the ability to orbit in 3d view if a node parameter window is open. These windows should always non-modal so you can orbit in 3d view while changing settings of a noise generator, for example.

blattacker

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2015, 02:13:00 AM »
I also sorely miss the ability to orbit in 3d view if a node parameter window is open. These windows should always non-modal so you can orbit in 3d view while changing settings of a noise generator, for example.

Definitely seconding this. I generally keep a second window open with the 3D view, and it'd be great to have the ability to move the camera around while messing with parameters.

I think going the route as many other 3D apps do would be perfect.

ALT + LMB
ALT + RMB
ALT + MMB

All these do all the zoom, pan and rotate. If not exactly like this.. Make more possible to do with the mouse.

Seconding this in particular. Literally every other bit of 3D software I use has this, or something very similar (Cinema 4D, RealFlow, and Vue). It's odd not having that level of control in World Machine.

Vision4Next

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #6 on: September 16, 2015, 09:56:22 AM »
Another vote for that from my side. I'm using Cinema 4D and Vue as well.

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #7 on: September 24, 2015, 05:38:12 AM »
Did you all try the arrow keys?

OlaHaldor

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio / Blog
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #8 on: January 21, 2016, 02:33:09 AM »
Arrow keys are slow and clunky vs. a mouse that can do the job tenfold faster and easier.
Windows 10 Pro | i7 5960x | 128GB RAM | 2XGTX Titan

Tangled-Universe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
Re: pan in 3d view
« Reply #9 on: January 26, 2016, 02:26:37 AM »
This has been requested several times before, but it seems it doesn't impress much and that's curious, as it severely limits the way you can inspect the very product of the software itself.

I don't understand why this still doesn't get some attention and priority.

I start feeling like a parrot ;)