Author Topic: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"  (Read 651 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« on: February 14, 2017, 04:48:18 AM »
hi there,

I got some single formations and mountains created and saved as .tiff heightfields. Now I want to import them into my TMD (via file input device), but also need
some control over their rotation. basically, I need something to rotate them freely clockwise/counter-clockwise in WM... Is there a way?

best regards

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2017, 12:12:09 AM »
So no way to do this?

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #2 on: February 16, 2017, 01:25:37 PM »
I haven't found a way, but I admit I've looked for only 5-10 mins. I haven't ever found a use for it. There should be a way to do it with dev build's localspace.

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #3 on: February 16, 2017, 11:08:08 PM »
Hey WFab,

from what I saw, Geoglyph 2 does have a "Rotator" Macro - so it must be possible somehow.

The use  (in my case) will be to bring in some mountains into an already existing "chain of mountains" that goes rouund an area.
So I need to somehow fine-tune the rotating / align things to make them fit.

JakBB

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2017, 12:00:38 AM »
The new Dev version has better distortion that also works for rotation

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2017, 11:08:32 AM »
Geoglyph 2 does have a rotator device, but it too works only in local space for now. The areas outside are either created as a constant or mirroring. You could easily do it outside wm, in an image editing program that supports floating point outputs.

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2017, 11:47:45 PM »
hmmm, maybe you´re right - I could do some rotation outside of WM - but I need to do it inside of WM, to really fine-tune position and rotations.
I do not know the exact angle to rotate, when outside of WM.

I got a really large main area, surrounded by mountains (all around)
The mountians are placed ok, but in some areas, there are gaps where you would fall off the map ;)

So I need that gaps to be closed. Instead of relying on rnd mountains to hopefully show up in the areas and cascade a lot choosers or combiners, I want to precisly place some hero mountains heightfields just right into the gaps so areas are 100% blocked.


Kiwi-Hawk

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #7 on: February 26, 2017, 06:05:43 PM »
Kia ora


Is that why GeoGlyphs rotator moves in more of circle rather than rotate on it's self, seems the point it rotates off is NOT the center of the item your rotating

JakBB

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #8 on: February 26, 2017, 10:24:11 PM »
I'm not familiar with the device, but does it have device coordinates? Try adjusting those to the center of the terrain.
Or if it doesn't have device coordinates and the device forgot them you could shift your terrain to the center, it's tedious, but may work

Kiwi-Hawk

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #9 on: February 26, 2017, 11:50:11 PM »
Just has degrees, only one slider nothing else

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2017, 12:03:50 AM »
I went on and install Geoglyph 2, will check rotator device - I really hope it can rotate things into place...

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #11 on: February 27, 2017, 05:54:04 AM »
The output will still be in localspace though, and it won't work with the release build. Too much hassle just to rotate a heightfield. WM still does not have predictive algorithms for generating terrains, it's still all data centric. So, rotating a terrain in arbitrary manner would not go well with current infinite world building apparatus. Though a rotation slider in file input itself would be easier to implement, where it rotates the heightmap BEFORE importing it into world machine. That you can add to feature request for sure.

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
    • View Profile
Re: Rotate a heightfield from a "File Input"
« Reply #12 on: February 27, 2017, 06:59:27 AM »
heheh, yes that would be a neat feature! But I got no hope, we ever see this.. at least not in an acceptable timeframe