Author Topic: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph  (Read 3069 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Naima

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« on: January 11, 2017, 02:38:04 AM »
So its been years since the announcement of WM 3.0 and yet no official relase , and why geoglyph isn't si ply part of WM but a side payment plugin?

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2017, 03:37:55 AM »
Yes, it seems Geoglyph is kind of "new development" IDE for the abandoned WM 2.x and 3.x - very sad, that WM is not under development...

So if you want some kind of "new WM version", I guess buying the IDE plugins, provided by Geoglyph is the only option, if you want to stick to WM.
(but this wonīt bring us GPU support nor fixes nor whatever)

I lost hope for WM a few month ago - but maybe World Creator 2 lives up to itīs very promising features, for a similar price!
« Last Edit: January 11, 2017, 03:40:50 AM by Onkelpoe »

Naima

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2017, 01:07:43 PM »
Still no news?

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2017, 03:16:40 PM »
World machine development has started again, 2 releases so far. Check out the development blog. http://www.world-machine.com/blog/

Vision4Next

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2017, 12:59:29 AM »
Does Geoglyph work with this newest Beta?
I'm delighted to see a new version again.

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2017, 03:22:48 PM »
For now, geoglyph 2 works with wm dev 3011 and earlier. Next update to will add compatibility with latest release of wm.

Naima

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #6 on: May 28, 2017, 07:28:40 AM »
When will next release of WM arrive?

Fat_Bob

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2017, 07:49:05 AM »
I imagine Godot will bring it with him when he turns up..

Vision4Next

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2017, 11:05:04 PM »
Other question. Which version is supported by Geoglyph at the moment?

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2017, 05:09:18 AM »
Geoglyph 2 at it's current state is compatible with all versions up till 3011, and version 3015. 3014 doesn't have a PDK I think.

ajbombadill

  • Community Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #10 on: July 04, 2017, 11:55:14 AM »
I am very happy to see that WM is now active in updates, and am really looking forward to WM 3 full release  :D
WMPro 3.0dev x64, Win 10 Pro Prev Build 10525, Motherboard ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS, CPU (2x) Intel Xeon CPU E5-2650 v2 @ 2.60GHz, 2601 Mhz, 8 Cores, 16 Logical Processors,Video EVGA Superclocked TITAN X, Memory 196 GB ECC, CoolerMaster 1500w PS, 4K Samsung 50"

Vision4Next

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #11 on: August 09, 2017, 06:18:22 AM »
Geoglyph 2 at it's current state is compatible with all versions up till 3011, and version 3015. 3014 doesn't have a PDK I think.

I have 3016 Pro now and wonder if Geoglyph 2 was updated to this version as well. I will need a lot of terrains for a personal project in Fall 2017 and wonder about the future of Geoglyph 2, as now Tor starts to come up and I don't want to invest into another dead software.

My primary application is Cinema 4D with Vray and the heightfield worked quite well together with splatter maps for materials and plants and color maps as well. Nevertheless Geoglyph 2 seems to be able to do much more and in a smoother and easier way.

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #12 on: August 09, 2017, 11:33:19 PM »

I have 3016 Pro now and wonder if Geoglyph 2 was updated to this version as well. I will need a lot of terrains for a personal project in Fall 2017 and wonder about the future of Geoglyph 2, as now Tor starts to come up and I don't want to invest into another dead software.

My primary application is Cinema 4D with Vray and the heightfield worked quite well together with splatter maps for materials and plants and color maps as well. Nevertheless Geoglyph 2 seems to be able to do much more and in a smoother and easier way.

Geoglyph is still under active development, not dead so far. New export formats coming with the next update, including EXR. 3016 is supported too, as far as I know. I don't have the latest build, so I can't check. I'll get back to you on that.

Vision4Next

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Re: World machine 3.0 and geoglyph
« Reply #13 on: August 13, 2017, 02:02:43 AM »
Thanks for the information. Just got a license and I'm really a bit overwhelmed about the feature rich content. So many possibilities.
I have to play around to see what can be done. Geoglyph looks like a program of its own  :D