Author Topic: issue with VS2010 express ed.  (Read 2683 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

kalwalt

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
issue with VS2010 express ed.
« on: March 27, 2013, 02:09:51 PM »
i did a succesfull build of the project, but i had to alter the resource.rc file, because i'm using the express edition of the compiler. You need afxres.h but you can switch to windows.h and the code compile. I will report other issue if i will find .

kalwalt

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: issue with VS2010 express ed.
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2013, 09:40:26 AM »
i don't know if it is a consequence of the fact that i changed the resource.rc  file but i can't build the 64bit dll.(I'm on a Windows 7 64 bit machine) . I copy and pasted the 32 bit .dll in the plugin folder but i can't see the custom devices in the menu. Because i'm in a 64 bit machine i run from a console the WM32bit .exe but this not help ( and this is no log output). there is a way to receive a log file for the Startup?

skylerd

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: issue with VS2010 express ed.
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2013, 12:07:31 PM »
What error do you get when you try to build the 64-bit dll?

kalwalt

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: issue with VS2010 express ed.
« Reply #3 on: March 29, 2013, 05:15:33 AM »
At the moment i'm not on my Windows7 machine but as i remember i can't switch the the top flag x64 of Visual Studio . But as i switch back to my machine i can take a look deeper in it. Do you works also with the express edition?

Remnant

  • Author
  • World Machine Guru
  • *****
  • Posts: 2311
    • View Profile
    • http://www.world-machine.com/
Re: issue with VS2010 express ed.
« Reply #4 on: March 29, 2013, 01:44:17 PM »
Hi there,

I believe that the express edition by default does not include 64bit support.

Follow this stack overflow thread for more details on how to include 64bit support:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/1865069/how-to-compile-a-64-bit-application-using-visual-c-2010-express
-- Stephen Schmitt
- Creator of World Machine

kalwalt

  • World Machine Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: issue with VS2010 express ed.
« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2013, 05:00:36 AM »
You are right . this is the problem. I was afraid that 64bit was available only for the professional solution, so i have some chance. Honestly, I prefer to develop in linux that windows. Well, now i have to download the hughe Windows SDK. When i solve this i will report in this topic. Thank you for the support!