World Machine Community

Sharing => Works in Progress => Topic started by: OlaHaldor on October 12, 2013, 12:43:32 am

Title: My first terrain
Post by: OlaHaldor on October 12, 2013, 12:43:32 am
This is my first terrain I've designed from scratch and brought over to LightWave 3D. It was built in 4096x4096. Exported height map, color map, flow map, wear map and deposition. And somehow mixed most of them into the surface in LightWave.

Quite happy with the result overall. Will try to make a snow version of the same terrain later.
I'm not happy about the flat part on the top of the mountain though. I'd like to have a peak, but whatever I did, it just wouldn't make one. I'm looking into it.

I'm looking for a solution to use splat maps in LightWave. If anyone have a good idea, let me know!

Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: OlaHaldor on October 12, 2013, 02:00:39 am
Noticed I had forgot to add the Wear map in the image I attached.
New image attached, with wear map applied.
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: OlaHaldor on October 12, 2013, 03:38:42 pm
I tried upping it to 8K resolution. Took a while to build. Almost 9 hours to be exact. But it added some nice subtle details.
Compressed JPEG attached. If you want to see an uncompressed PNG (http://olahaldor.net/scrap/3k_8kbaked.png).. 7MB.
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: WFab on October 13, 2013, 10:06:37 pm
i see u have edge problem in your far side, i have the same one in maya and blender. did u try using mesh mode? anyways, nice render and texturing!!!
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: OlaHaldor on October 18, 2013, 12:49:51 am
Thanks. Yes I've used the same subpatched object for other landscapes which had a non-square heightmap, so it wasn't a 1:1 fit of the heightmap and textures.
For the time being I prefer to use subpatched objects for terrain as the exported .obj can be very heavy.

With subpatched objects I can work in a very low resolution version while I'm figuring out lighting and cameras, much like you preview the terrain before a build.
Once I hit RENDER, the render engine will bump the resolution of the terrain up a few notches and it looks better.
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: WFab on October 18, 2013, 02:07:28 am
did you import a dem map as file input? cause i get the feeling i've seen this terrain profile before... nice texturing! did you do it in lightwave or wm???
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: OlaHaldor on October 18, 2013, 04:46:21 am
No, this is entirely made up in WM. I used the Extended Overlay macro to generate textures, and exported all of the different maps to image files to test and combine in LightWave, where I rendered using a HDR sky and a directional light.
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Ahumata on October 29, 2013, 12:07:35 am
Really enjoying how it looks, how the texturing gives off a very clean and sharp "videogamey" effect.
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Lorne on December 02, 2013, 08:45:22 pm
If you want to fix those edges, you probably just need to set your file input to stretch at the borders rather than repeat.

In Maya, this is accessed on the Place2dTexture node by turning off Wrap U and Wrap V. Not sure about Lightwave.
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: mrfish on January 20, 2014, 02:13:33 pm
Hi,

About those edges, I use Modo and in the UV settings I changed the 'repeat' to 'reset' and that fixed the problem. Not sure what they would come under in Maya or any other 3D package but I'm sure its the same thing.
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: OlaHaldor on May 27, 2014, 05:00:19 am
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Al_pfhaZSI (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Al_pfhaZSI)
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on May 27, 2014, 06:06:33 am
Great, thanks a lot for sharing with the community  :D

Cheers!
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: e2clipse on May 27, 2014, 06:27:23 am
Looks rather nice :)
I got 2 small points of interest
Why didnt you add a small beach that would grasp the toes of those ridges by the water?
And theres a little kinda reflectivness right between the grass/muddy area..

I do like it! Keep it up
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on May 27, 2014, 07:21:19 am
Ok and so I combined the colorizing of your (@OlaHaldor) terrain with a brand new macro http://forum.world-machine.com/index.php?topic=2605.0 (http://forum.world-machine.com/index.php?topic=2605.0) from e2clipse...

here are the results of a 10x10km terrian @2k res:


Cheers!
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: e2clipse on May 27, 2014, 07:25:05 am
They look nice :shock: both of them,though the carved one has more details on the rocks :)
Maybe a litte PQualizer to get those spikes out?
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on May 27, 2014, 08:16:00 am
Japp-will use your Equalizer for that :) and post again!
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on May 28, 2014, 02:39:22 am
EQ is not working atm... waiting for update  :P

Meanwhile, I added a coastline and "real" water to the terrain:


Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on May 28, 2014, 04:14:10 am
And here a "hell-ish" Version without water:


Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on May 28, 2014, 06:13:51 am
Changes sand-color and uses e2clipse "PQualizer" on it...

Would be cool, if the "PQ-Frequency-height" setting would be a bit more sensitive to cut away only the small peaks, instead
of smoothing it all up...

Cheers!
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: e2clipse on May 28, 2014, 07:01:27 am
The height
The amount
And especially the type of filter used makes a lot of difference
Inverted filter and filter strenght set to 28 or a little more might give you what u are looking for?
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on May 28, 2014, 07:31:25 am
Yeah, I just need very slllliiiiightly smoothing on this!
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: e2clipse on May 28, 2014, 07:39:58 am
Reduce filter
Use simple or no filter
Not to much sediment
Resistance up
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on June 06, 2014, 05:48:51 am
Ok, I took my time and experimented a lot and I think, I came closer now.

Now, I´d like to add some "Edgewear" to the ridges (and only to the very top of the ridges!), like I maked in blue on the screenshot (2K res btw)
2nd, I´d love to have some "sand" (maybe I try e2clipse´s "snow device" for that). i want sand only to fill in in the carves a bit, not
covering the whole terrain...

Would love to hear suggestions form you :)

Cheers!


Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: e2clipse on June 06, 2014, 05:52:19 am
Use the manipulator on the flowmap for that
It can make the selection smaller then a regukar flowmap
But still keep shape...

:D
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: e2clipse on June 06, 2014, 05:54:04 am
For edgewear maybe use a roughness selector wich is downloadable in library
Then choose selection and feed it to a color or color gradient machine

Or also use manipulator for that cause it can give you both different results
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: Onkelpoe on June 06, 2014, 06:36:11 am
That roughness-device from the library was a gooood hint:

So much better now!

Ok, next up: the sand...

Cheers !!!
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: e2clipse on June 06, 2014, 06:37:42 am
Glad to help :D
Title: Re: My first terrain
Post by: OlaHaldor on August 29, 2014, 03:25:55 pm
Attached my terrain.