Author Topic: Feature Requests  (Read 3973 times)

Eric Cosky

• World Machine Veteran
    • View Profile
Feature Requests
« on: July 08, 2011, 08:16:15 PM »
I saw on the blog the solicitation for feature requests so I thought I'd just make a post here to communicate things I think might be worth doing/having in World Machine.
I am an admitted newbie to World Machine, so please forgive any dumb or otherwise useless suggestions I might have. I fully recognize some of these are pretty unlikely to happen but perhaps you will find the ideas useful in some way regardless.

* Drag & Drop images from windows explorer to create a prepared file input device. This would just be a convenience of course, but a handy one.

* A way to view the hires tiled output within the viewer. It seems that only the regular builds are visible in the program itself.

* In the device view, when using mouse wheel to zoom, zoom in on where the cursor is.

* Make the various device modal dialogs non modal. It's mildly annoying and at the least, time consuming, to have to tweak and then close a dialog to see the results.

* I suspect this program could greatly benefit from having the devices written to use CUDA. It's already pretty quick, but it could possibly be orders of magnitudes faster due to the parallel nature of a lot of the work this kind of app does.

* Render farms on a per-tile basis would of course be very useful. This could be done as a service listening to a port, which is sent a .tmd and a tile coordinate to render, returning the results to the PC running the UI. Doing this over a LAN is not as bad as it might sound if using named pipes, btw, but making it work over the internet as a peer to peer service would be ideal. Blender has something along those lines, and it's pretty amazing.