Author Topic: Fantasy Author looking for World building tools  (Read 3327 times)

C.A. Wolcott

Fantasy Author looking for World building tools
« on: June 14, 2015, 05:29:37 PM »
   I have been exploring World Machine for the last couple days when I just found it and I just have a couple clarification questions from what I have been looking. I am a fiction author, part-time, and my main genres are in a fantasy setting. My current novel is so big I am honestly comparing it to Lord of the Rings and Middle Earth. But with such a large setting and world, it really helps to have some sort of visual picture of the terrain, especially when I get into my battle scenes. I haven't been able to find a physical medium to use to picture it the way I'd like (such as LEGOs which just don't work the way I need them too or WarHammer 40K terrains which I can't afford and are rather fixed), so I started looking at computer based world-building tools and came across World Machine and it looks like it will do what I need it to do. But I have a couple questions for clarification.

1). I am not looking at using this for game development, but I am looking at potentially using this not just to create a landscape where I can plan all my scenes and particularly my battle scenes. I also see myself using this platform to show animation/visuals of battle scenes possible for speaking presentations on how to write battle scenes. Would the free model work for this, or would I need the standard model?