Author Topic: Is there a guide or tutorial, how the river-tool works?  (Read 1959 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
Is there a guide or tutorial, how the river-tool works?
« on: February 01, 2016, 12:56:08 AM »
hi there, title says it:

I am looking for a tutorial/video/something, that explains, how the new "river-tool" works. I can not update
to a newer version than 3dev, so I can not have a look, myself...

And before I maybe upgrade, Id like to judge, if this feature is of interest for me, or not.


kind regards.

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Is there a guide or tutorial, how the river-tool works?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2016, 05:48:14 AM »
There are examples included with the latest dev build. One of them explains rivers through group infos. Very simple to understand.

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a guide or tutorial, how the river-tool works?
« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2016, 11:43:51 PM »
Ah, ok. Id never got the latest Dev build, stuck with 3.0.1 dev, AFAIR.
I was thinking to upgrade to Pro - but as things are now, I will not...


WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Is there a guide or tutorial, how the river-tool works?
« Reply #3 on: July 01, 2016, 04:48:21 AM »
You should, it's still a gem. Check your examples folder, there should be a separate folder for dev build. In there, there's a whole folder full of river examples.

Onkelpoe

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
    • View Profile
Re: Is there a guide or tutorial, how the river-tool works?
« Reply #4 on: July 01, 2016, 07:45:56 AM »
Hmmmm, I just got an older dev Version of standard 3.0 - there is no river tool availible to me :(

Only reason to buy Pro would be the tiled export - which can be done with outer software for 1/5 the price, as Ive found out.
+ the other software has active development (last time, I checked)

If WM would be developed active (bugfixes+new functions), then it would make sense to buy and I would upgrade.
I guess now, you can not even buy a license or upgrade, cause Stephen is not around to give a key or approve new users...


Cheers!
« Last Edit: July 01, 2016, 07:48:44 AM by Onkelpoe »

WFab

  • World Machine Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 369
    • View Profile
    • Blog
Re: Is there a guide or tutorial, how the river-tool works?
« Reply #5 on: July 01, 2016, 03:25:58 PM »
Upgrading is automated I believe. So as long as the domain is functioning, you may be able to upgrade. Whether you want to is another matter of course.  :)