• Welcome to World Machine Community. Please login or sign up.

June 17, 2019, 02:08:28 am

News:

Read the Development Diary for an inside look at World Machine's progress!

New_to_WM: Set height restriction?

Started by JamesChao, November 06, 2017, 06:14:41 pm

Previous topic - Next topic

JamesChao

Hi, I'm new to World Machine.  I have a general question in regard to integrating WM workflow into Unreal4 I was wondering if WM veterans can advice?

In general, most workflow tutorials that I've found is to generate terrain/landscape from WM first, and then import into Unreal4, and goes from there.  I was wondering, what if I would like to do this the other way around?  What I meant is starting a rough Landscape from Unreal4 first, export the height map to WM, run through all sorts of filters, and then re-import the new result back into Unreal4?

More specifically, this is the problem that I ran into:  I would like to create a very rough layout from Unreal4 based on game design need, bring it to WM, do stuff, and then back into Unreal4.  Visually, this workflow is doable and I can roughly control where I want specific terrain features.  However, because of game design needs, some sections in the rough Unreal4 draft needs to be at fairly precise game-play height.  With WM, most of the filters and generators really wants to drastically modify the heights (as it should be).