8k heightmap input error

Hey guys,

I’m new to World Machine and did not come far yet.

The GIS department here (University of Amsterdam) has provided me with 10m resolution DEM data for our location, I converted it to Photoshop and exported a 8192x8192 px image in 16bit grayscale.

Using the file input node in WM, nothing happens on loading or reloading. The preview image stays black. If I go out of the node and back in, it says “Error reading input file”.

I tried tif, png, tga and raw each in 16 and 8 bit, bmp in 8 bit. All Grayscale.

Does anyone know, what I am doing wrong?

Greets, Bodo

Hmm, very odd indeed.

There should be no trouble reading a 8192x8192 file.

Here’s a first quick troubleshooting step. Can WM read its own files back in? For example, if you give the default world’s file output a filename and type and build it, can file input read that file? This should help isolate if there is some sort of filesystem wonkiness going on.

The fact that it fails on all input types is particularly strange making me suspect the above.

Good morning,

and thanks for the quick reply.

I used an 8k output file, it also works as input.

Now I replaced its content in PS (copy/paste) and saved the file. It works!

So what was wrong:

The file size of my 8k .tif map in 16bit grayscale was 414.7 MB. Using the “flatten” command, it reduced to 128 MB. WM still does not read this file.

In Photoshop 5.1 there is a difference in the file info next to the name:

My original tif: name.TIF @ 12.5% (Gray/16)
WM output: name.tif @ 12.5% (Gray/16#)

So what is the difference?? And why was the tif 400+ mb with no layers or any effects?

Would be good if we can still resolve that, even though I do have a workaround now, using the wm output as a placeholder file…

Thanks, Bodo

wow, that’s very interesting and unexpected. I am interested in tracking down what’s happening here.