Building Roads 101?

Is there a step-by-step tutorial for building roads here or anywhere? I’m new to World Machine and I can’t get instructions I’ve found here to work. Placing lines in the Layout View creates giant features that I can’t figure out how to edit. Pretty confused.

Can someone give me a quick road-building tutorial that doesn’t make any assumptions about my skill level? I just need to create a road that winds down a crater… cutting into the crater wall at some places, and existing on built-up land in other places. I’ve loaded in my height map and have a nice crater ready to go.

roads built with layout generator tend to be equally elevated at every point, could you post a screenshot of your terrain, so i can figure what kind of road you want??? btw check my post earlier from wip thread… if this is what you want, then i can guide you for it easily…

Stephen has given a rough description of the process here http://forum.world-machine.com/index.php?topic=2071.msg9503#msg9503. Note that you can modify the falloff shape of the curve by selecting the line in the layout view, opening the shape properties (click the pen) and click Ëdit"next to Falloff Profile Curve. There are three presets, two of them for roads, but you can modify the curve any way you want.

is “drop curve to surface” a new feature to wm 2.3 ???.. i don’t seem to have it in 2.2 :frowning:

Hey, thanks everybody. Going through your links now… @WFab: Here’s what I’m trying to do… I have a portion of the moon, and I need to create a road that goes from outside of a crater rim and down into the crater, making a number of switchbacks along the way. Here you can see the topology I have, and a path I’ve created as a shape in a Layout:

I’m stuck about how to proceed from here.

then if you have wm 2.3, then you need to right click on the curve path, and select “drop curve to surface”… you should have your road…