Device::GetLayoutUI

Hi,

I’m a games programmer and I need to create a better road layout tool for our gfx team - preferably as a plugin to world machine. I’ve looked at the PDK and I think I have to somehow provide my own layout manipulator, in order to be able to control splines and how they are applied to the terrain.
Does anyone know how I write my own layout? Alternatively how do I access an existing layout in order to get hold of the splines?

I’ve tried overriding the SimpleGenerator::GetLayoutUI, but the method is never called.

Thanks in advance,
Henning

Hi Henning,

Essentially there are 2 steps to introducing Layout View UI code:

1. Subclass from DeviceLayoutUIClient (defined in LayoutUIClient.h) a new class that represents the view code for the device to be interacted with. For example:
class MyDeviceUIClient : public DeviceLayoutUIClient
{
public:
        MyDeviceUIClient(Device *mydevice) { setOwner(mydevice); };
        /// Draw the device into Layout View
	virtual bool OnDraw(LV_GUIData &style);
... and more stuff.. see header for full list of supported function calls
};
  1. In your device class, create the following function:
class MyCustomDevice : public Filter {
public:
... other stuff...
LayoutUIClient *GetLayoutUI() { return &my_layout_ui; };
... more
private:
  MyDeviceUIClient my_layout_ui;

It must return a pointer to an instance of the layout UI view class defined in Step 1.

The above should get you up and running and have WM call into your layout view code. As soon as GetLayoutUI() is not returning NULL, WM will call on the Draw and Manipulator functions defined in that interface.

However, note that the above allows you to create Overview-type device interactions in Layout Mode. You cannot access WM’s Layout Generator spline layouts and such, as they are done through a related but more tightly integrated codebase. You could create similar functionality from scratch but you are currently unable to leverage the Layout Generator itself.