Exporting terrain textures

Hi

I’m fairly new to terrain and am trying to export a heightmap and texture for use in a 3d game engine.

I can’t find any option to create texture files for terrain in World Machine. How do I do this?

Thanks
Neil

Hi Neil,

Currently, you can’t export textures… In fact, right now WorldMachine doesn’t know what “texture” is… You can only export heightmaps…

Now if have an image editor program you might think of doing something else… a Heightmap is a greyscale image… you can use such image to use as mask for a texture… so you can composite several textures (images) based on masks generated by WM.

But at the present time, there is no specific texture support in WM… That justifies you not finding it :wink:

Cheers,

Neil,

Sorry for the quick reply… I was didn’t have much time to answer you… I forgot to mention you can read Stephen’s tip #2 found following the “Help” link in World-Machine’s main page (http://world-machine.com).
Tip #2 tells you how to export erosion information for using as masks in another program…
You can then play with other devices for other effects other than erosion related… You ca use a slope selector, to get the same kind of info from slopes… etc, etc…

From what I read, world machine can export heightfield (greyscale) data and some more custom masks. However, if I want to texture a terrain in a game engine, I use the grayscale heightfield for the actual mountain range - but how do I export the topological color texture (that looks so darn great) in world machine to a picture format (tif, tga, etc)?

Your help is appreciated.

Mike Felker

Well, technically speaking, you can’t do that in WM right now… I don’t know if that will be part of the “surprise feature set” :slight_smile: to be staring in v1.0 , but it was mentioned some while back, short after v.99 came out…

But it maight be possible to do that somewhere else…

WM paints the heightmap indexing its height on a file “colors.tga”.