Guadalupe Ocean Cliff

Hey guys. I’ve been trying to recreate something very similar to the picture attached, but due to how vertical the terrain is, I’m having a difficult time. Any ideas on how I might achieve something similar?

It might help to let us know what project world extents you are using. I am not a WM pro but I think a perfect cube shaped extent is helpful for making good cliffs. So try a world extent of 16k x 16k x 16k. Once you have a nice shape for your island (either imported file or layout generator to mask it out) you can use the height selector, angle selector and/or the slope convexity selector to apply noise, erosion etc to the near vertical sides of your cliffs. The beach erosion filter might also help draw out this island shape you are after.

I think the best way to get help around here is to upload the project file you are working on so the advanced users can quickly make some edits instead of trying to explain their thoughts here which can sometimes cause more confusion. Hope this helped! Cheers.

Here it is man. I’ve tried doing what you said but I’m pretty newish to WM. Hopefully you can take a look at it.

Hi there,

I spent a bit of time tweaking your file above, but unfortunately did so in the dev channel build – I don’t know if you will be able to open the file. Instead I’ll just describe a few things:

1. In general, steep cliff sides are hard to pull off because of the limitations of heightfields – the detail will get increasingly stretched out as the slope gets higher. Going above 45 degree slopes starts getting pretty problematic.

2. I recommend layering a few shapes together to create your island – in the model photo you posted, there are extra cliff plateaus about half the way up – put those in manually by drawing more polygon shapes set to a height about halfway up in your layout generator.