Help with Layout Generator as Source

Hi everybody!

I’m relatively new to WM (love it!) and just starting to play around with the more advanced devices.
I can use the Layout Generator to modify existing terrains, but not as terrain source.
I created a terrain consisting of several lines and one polygon, which is rendered as Layout 1. I.e. in the device list on the left of the screen, I get both Layout Generator and Layout 1. Both are rendered. But apparently I cannot pass on the Layout 1 info. If I click on the LG device, the preview displays a flat terrain, and this is what is passed on to the following Perlin generator (which according to the manual is needed to give shape to the generated height and shape information).

In the Layout Generator, I can get the Layout Generator tab to display Layout 1, but it says on the top: “Selected Device is not current Layout”. How do I make it the current layout?

Could somebody please provide a Layout Generator for Dummies description of how to use the LG as terrain source?
Thanks!!!

Hi there,

There is one slightly confusing thing about the Layout View – the layout that you currently have selected is NOT the one you necessarily see reflected in the terrain underneath what you’ve created. This is done so that you can examine a different device while creating a layout, which is a very useful ability.

Try this:

In the Layout View, select the “Layout 1” tab. You should see the outline of your lines/polygon to appear. If you see the warning “Selected Device is NOT current layout”, it means what you’re viewing underneath your shapes is not the actual layout generator (layout 1) that you’ve created.

To make it appear, you can do one of the two following things: Either click on the Layout 1 device on the leftside view, or click the “Select” button in the layout view near the top (just to the left of the tabs of different layouts). This will make the layout that you are creating appear in the view.