Problem with "River"-tutorial

Hi!

I’m new to programs like World Machine and Terragen, so I’m trying to figure out how to use these programs by following tutorials and playing around.
Yesterday I tried to go through the tutorial “A River runs through it” and it worked, but I have some questions:

• Have the two Perlin Noise devices at the beginning to be exact copies or should they be two different ones?

• When I link the new devices (made by following the tutorial) to the Perlin Noise, it is impossible to link it to the output device as it only has one linking point. Is it necessary to link the Perlin Noise to the output or will the output be alright when it’s not linked to any other device? (I also have the idea that I may link the Combiner to the Output device…)

• Will there be more tutorials on World Machine? And does maybe anybody know if there are good and easy Terragen tutorials, too?

Thank you very much for helping a 3D-newbie! :smiley:
(btw, my Terragen tries: http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/12738403/ )

Hi Reika :slight_smile:

This tutorial was used for earlier versions of World Machine. Now you can simply use the “Rocky Run” macro which comes with v0.99…

Anyway I’m going to try to answer :

- Have the two Perlin Noise devices at the beginning to be exact copies or should they be two different ones?
-> There’s no need for them to be exact copies : the first Perlin will be your terrain, and the second one will be modified to create the shape of the river. So, both can be different.

- When I link the new devices (made by following the tutorial) to the Perlin Noise, it is impossible to link it to the output device as it only has one linking point. Is it necessary to link the Perlin Noise to the output or will the output be alright when it’s not linked to any other device? (I also have the idea that I may link the Combiner to the Output device…)