Selection of WM and Modo wip renders

Hello guys,

It’s been a while since I’ve posted any wips and I thought I’d share some of what I’ve created in WorldMachine.
I usually render out heightmaps at 8K or 16K. I really like to push for larger renders just to see how much detail it can produce when displaced.

I create and render my scenes using Modo and comp in either Nuke or Photoshop.
I’m still new to Modo and am learning a bit of Speedtree so I can add foliage in my scenes.
The bare trees to me still aren’t perfect and the random scale of the shrubs is a little off in the sunset one (you can see there are really tiny ones)!
Please feel free to ask any questions and any creative criticism is welcomed:)

Here’s some more, if memory serves me correct this is from a 16K heightmap. Pretty impressed at the level of detail:

and the last one:

Very cool works! Specially like the composition in first 3.

16k is a bit overkill in most cases, but I see why you are going for it. May I know your system specs?

Thank you WFab :slight_smile:

Yeah it can be and it can take ages to render on my laptop depending on what settings I have on the erosion node and how many I’ve used.

My laptop is an Acer Aspire 5742Z, Intel P6200@ 2.13GHz, 8GB, Windows 7 64bit.

Very well done. I really like the second one. Very realistic!

If you built these on that laptop, you’re my hero from now on! :shock:

I quite agree! My rig is a bit elderly now but it is a desktop with a quad core i7 930 2.8GHz with 12GB RAM and there’s no way I could render above 8k.

Well done!

Thank you Vision4Next and thanks guys for the complements.

I render all my height maps on my laptop.
8K can take a while. Sometimes I have to leave my laptop on over night🙈
and save them out as 16bit tiffs.