Teething problems getting started with VC2010 and PDK 2.3.5

First a bit of context. I’ve been programming professionally in C since the late 1980’s for Unix and Linux, but have negligible exposure to the Window development environment. The last time I dabbled (correct word) with C on Windows was in the VC5 timeframe.

I’ve downloaded the VC2010 Express installer, installed it (96MB download), and updated it with the Windows Update security patches (266MB download). [Rhetorical aside, how is it even POSSIBLE to have 266MB of security patches to a 96MB software product?!]

I loaded the PDK 2.3.5 example project “solution”, left it in the Debug(Win32) configuration, and in the project properties added include directories “{blah}/src” and “{blah}/src/support”, added library directory “{blah}/lib”, told it not to use pre-compiled headers, and changed the library dependency reference from “corelib.dll” to “corelib32.dll”. I also told the project not to use the resource file, since the afxres.h it depends on isn’t present.

This gets me through compiling the sources, but at the linking stage I have a couple of issues. There’s a warning about a conflict between /INCREMENTAL and /LTCG that I’m presently ignoring. There’s a hard error involving inconsistent values for _ITERATOR_DEBUG_LEVEL (0 versus 2) that I don’t know how to deal with.

I’d appreciate any guidance, suggestions or handholding so I can actually build the PDK examples properly.

Hi there,

Luckily this has an easy solution: The problem is that the World Machine libraries are compiled in Release mode, which is incompatible with Debug builds. You have two choices:

1. Always build in release mode instead – this works but makes debugging your plugins harder, or
  2. Make your debug builds use the release version of the C runtime – for your project, go to Properties -> C++ -> Code Generation and change the Runtime Library to Multi Threaded.