WM calculating non-picked routes

Hello World Machine community.
I am using World Machine 3028, Standard build 64 bit. I started playing around with the macro and as an experiment decided to create a terrain generation macro for a mod I’m creating. The macro can take a height input and optionally layout input and turn it into different types of terrain, such as canyons or mountains. Each one of these types of terrain has its own group of nodes and the idea is that WM will only calculate the group chosen by a dropdown box that feeds into a router.

All input goes through the router with the exception of one input that influences the route picker at the end, but nothing connects in the middle, so WM should ONLY be calculating the nodes that connect to the correct route as far as I can tell. However it calculates every single node in the macro regardless of what I do. As a new user of the forum, I believe I cannot upload images or files, so here is a simplified text diagram:

[Params, including     ]
               [Terrain Type Parameter] ------\
                      |                        \
                      |         [TerrainType1]  \
[Macro Input] ---- [Router] ---{              }  [Route Picker] ----- [Macro Output]
                                [TerrainType2]

Of course there is a lot more to it than that, but the point is that instead of building TerrainType1 when I choose option 1 or TerrainType2 when I choose option 2, it just builds everything in the macro, causing it to take forever.

Is this a bug or am I just using/understanding it wrong?

Hi there,

That’s a great idea for a macro, and what you want should definitely work. I wrote out a detailed message guide for this kind of processing, and then I realized that there indeed IS a bug.

But first, I just want to clarify how this does (and does NOT) work, to help others trying to do the same thing as well.