Education assistance?

Hello all:

I am currently a student at a local college and my aim is to go into game development. I am currently receiving training on many different game engines and software to help me do what I need to do to create and maintain games. World Machine is one of the softwares that have come up, and I am looking into getting one of the premium versions. However, I see that they are quite expensive and I just do not have the means to purchase a license straight out. The free version is nice, don’t get me wrong, but I am limited both in size and quality. Nothing that I have created with the free version has been up to spec to go into my portfolio, so I am looking for something I can regularly use to create things of that level.

I have started two support tickets on the site, the latest one only a few moments ago from the time of this post. The other has been over a week or a week and a half without any sign of me ever receiving a response.

Is there a program out there that will offer any help with this?

Also, is the license only valid for a year, and then you are booted back down to the free version until you renew the license? I would be happy to stop receiving updates if I can keep the “Professional” features and the money will be more worth it to me, even if I receive no assistance.

I feel your pain about student budget and pro level software.
I’m not sure whether WM does discounts for students. If it’s not, I’d say: save up. Or get a Mastercard or ask someone for a loan. I know it’s not the answer you want, but if it’s the only way, what can you do?

The year long license is perpetual - it never ends - and is considered as maintenance. It’s a common term in the world of professional software, and basically means

• The software does not stop functioning, but
  • after 12 months you will no longer get software updates.
  • You can extend the maintenance on your license by 12 months at a time for a relatively low cost