Flatten certain areas

If the slope of a heightmap is less than a certain amount, I would like to completely flatten the terrain, creating a sort of terrace but leaving the rest of the terrain intact. Is this possible in WM?

You’ve got the terrace filter, otherwise you have to use the slope selector and try one of the available filters.

The flat surfaces need to be absolutely flat, though. Can WM do that?

Could you show me exactly what I need to do?

Select the slopes you dont want to be flattened. Invert it, Combine with a flat land and use the inverted slope selector as a mask for the combiner. You can also limit the height in which this effect happens by using a height selector.

I will try that. But how do I round the heights of the affected areas to the nearest 24 units? The unaffected areas should not be rounded.

Could someone show me the exact steps to follow with an example? I am very new to WM.

[edit]

I would be willing to pay $50 to get a working example.

I think you might need to more fully describe what you’re trying to achieve, because the problem is not fully defined right now – a big part of figuring out how to achieve a procedural goal is to make sure you’ve actually fully defined what you want out of the solution.

For example, it would be easy to make a terrain where the heights are rounded to some nearest value using the terrace device, then Choose between that and the original terrain, placing your terraced region only where the slopes are gentle.

But this might not be what you want – within each gentle region, you’d still have jumps of elevation between one terrace level and the next. I suspect what you really want is to have flattened locations that are at a constant height, with regular terrain around them.