How to create "folded" mountain ranges?

I will preface this by saying I’m still fairly new to Worldmachine, so I’m not entirely familiar with all the tools (but know the basics). I am currently experimenting with creating terrain inspired by the Cape Fold Belt in South Africa, a landscape notable for its numerous parallel mountain ridges, sporadically cut through by small gorges that connect the coastal plain to the desert plateau. Shown above is one of such ridges (measuring about 30 km east to west for scale), as well as a grayscale heightmap of the general area (~400 km) showing the various ranges separated by valleys.

I think I’m knowledgeable enough to make a single mountain ridge, and my current plan is to use a layout generator to create a line shape and work from there. However, I was wondering if there is a way to generate numerous parallel ranges without drawing every single ridge. Is there an easy way to create several parallel lines without having to place every ridge and gorge manually? None of the existing generators seem to offer the required shapes. Any adjacent feedback or advice will be appreciated too!

Hey! Just to make sure we’re on the same page, you’re looking for something like this, right?

For now I’ve used my macro to quickly generate those parallel ridges, but this is more to illustrate you do not have to draw each individual ridge! Even better, everything here is procedural. When I have time, I can create a bit of an example world for how to procedurally create those ridges. The answer to that is posted multiple times here on the forum, so you can also go dig for it, but that may be too much of an hassle.

Could you share what your attempts are so far?