"Importing" and existing map--for a newbie

I have a map done in Fractal Mapper 8 that I’d like to ‘import’ to WM. It is not a heightfield, etc., but I’d like to use WM to get the basic terrain in and then (re)-generate the continent. How do I get started.

@jbclaypool What’s the format of your existing terrain data?

It’s a Fractal Mapper 8 file which is a not a height map, it’s a vector format with some bitmap elements. So, what I’m asking about is how to use the existing map as a template to “draw” a heightmap in World Machine.

Hi @jbclaypool. I’m by no means an expert, but the way I would tackle your problem would be to export your map as a high resolution image file, and then open that up in Photoshop/Gimp and turn it into a heightmap there. Since I suspect the main thing you want is the coastline, threshold the image to just a pure black and white, with the ocean being black and the land being white. Then select just the land(using, for example, the select by adjacent color tool or the smart selection tool) and soften the edges of the land until they smoothly blend into the ocean. Finally reduce contrast until you get something more reasonable, export, and import into WM.

Keep in mind that without an EXTREMELY high resolution you will lose quite a bit of detail - that’s just unavoidable with this method. Once the terrain is imported you can add mountains and other terrain features with the layout editor.

Personally I wouldn’t actually do any of that. I would just recreate the coastline in the layout editor to start with, as it gives me more flexibility and will probably involve much less tweaking to get just right.

1 Like

This is recently extremely within my wheelhouse, as this is exactly what I’ve been doing for months now, though I’ve been going from hand drawn maps!