Individual heightmap exporting

Hi all.
I’m new to WM and terrain creation tools in general, but I have a very specific question about heightmaps.
Let’s consider that I have the final result of a mountain with snow - is it possible in WM to individually export a “base ground” only heightmap (just the dirt), a “rocks” only heightmap (boulders and big rock formations) and a “snow” only heightmap (notice that I’m not talking about colormaps/masks)?
The idea is to import the individual maps to Zbrush and further sculpt/refine them.
Thank you.

PR

Hey, I’m having a bit of trouble understanding what you’re requesting.

Do you mean the following?

Let’s say you have a terrain, and you use the Snow node to add snow to it. You now want to export a heightmap of the “base” terrain, without snow, and an export of the terrain with snow. Or just the difference?

I’m also a bit puzzled. If you want to export the heightmap before applying the effects, wire the heightmap output to each separate heightmap exporter. I’m not sure on how to export masks with depth as a mesh, but I can probably figure that out. If you could reply to me for further clarification that’d be great.

Yes, distinct heightmaps, but, if possible, like this:

• ground (without any rocky formations) heightmap -> the idea is to reconstruct the holes left by the rocks and import it into UE4
  • the rock formations heightmap -> the idea is to import it to Zbrush and sculpt/refine them and then import them as separate meshes into UE4
  • the snowed area heightmap -> the idea is to animate it in a snowing scene from 0% snow to 100% (this heightmap)
    The heightmaps must have all the nodes in place - the final result.
    Thanx for the fast response. :slight_smile:

Ah, I see what you mean now.

• ground -> wire the heightmap before you do any snow or rock formations to a heightmap export