Procedural Beach Placement/'Concavity vs Convexity' masking

Hi!
I’m fairly new to World Machine; I first tried it years ago and liked it, but never dug that deep. I’ve picked it back up for a game development project with a pretty large environment, and the results I’m getting, in general, are way better now having spent some time learning.

One thing I’m having a bit of an issue with is beaches. The coastal erosion macro is nice, but by default gets applied everywhere on the shoreline which, save for specific types of islands, feels pretty unnatural. I know I can mask the beaches manually, but I was wondering whether it might be possible to place them procedurally.

Basically, in a lot of coastal terrain, as a very general rule of thumb, the concave areas end up as beaches, and the convex areas end up as cliffs. Of course such a rule alone is not perfect, but it’s a pretty solid starting point.

Example: https://www.google.com/maps/@57.6231753,-7.3427993,13840m/data=!3m1!1e3

It seems to me beaches are far from the only areas where you might want to mask stuff based on the general ‘shape’ of a piece of terrain above a certain height, but I can’t figure out any way to do something like that.

Wondering whether anyone has any suggestions, or whether I’ll just have to stick to manual masking.

Cheers!

1 Like