Tips on getting better

Hey everyone - I’m new to Discourse but I’ve been using World Machine for quite a while now. Throughout the years I got better and better in using World Machine and last December I got the opportunity to talk for a few hours to an expert that have been using it for years on end.

Recently I bought the professional edition as a gift for myself (the cooorresss, thee speed!) and I’ve been enjoying it every since. As an example of some of my recent work:

However I am getting a bit stuck. Even though I am still growing I’d like to grow (even) more, but I’m unsure where to learn it, what kind of experiments are interesting or … well, essentially how to tackle it. Should I study designs other people made? What if I learn poor practices from that? Is there something as a poor practice in World Machine?

My question is primarily: what can I do to get better and get more experience with using World Machine? Is there for example a challenge series that you can try yourself and compare your implementation to those of others?

I’d love to hear from you all how you got to where you are right now :slight_smile: , and what your plans are on improving yourself

1 Like

Studying work by others is certainly helpful and watching time lapses can give you some new insights or inspire you to try new techniques.

I think that you can have poor practices in almost any software, so yes also for World Machine. One more general “poor practice” is the practice of repetition and doing the same over and over again. Instead of exploring your boundaries and limits, you’re stuck in your comfort zone and iterating similar designs. So that is the main pitfall I want to warn you for.