Unable to use more than 4 threads

Hello,
I am pretty new to World Machine and I recently purchased the Pro edition so forgive me if this is a dumb question. But, why won’t the program allow me to go higher than 4 threads under Build Options? It lets me adjust it down, but not up. I have a 16 core processor btw.

Hi there,

Sorry to hear you’re having trouble - That’s definitely not right. Can you verify that you are indeed running the Pro version by going to Help->About?

I guess I had purchased the Indie version. I looked it up and I cannot build with more than two cores. So this makes sense now. On a side note I am interested in trying out the tiling features in the Pro version, Is there any way to try those out before I purchase? I’m not sure that it will accomplish what I need, but its the only thing I can think of at this point. I am trying to build a very large map for Minecraft 150km x 98km and the highest resolutions you can work with of only 16k x 10k make it kind of hard to get any details on the terrain. So far I have been building the basic landmass, mountains, etc in world machine, exporting the low res (16k x 10k) file to photoshop, taking a slice (1/400th) of the full height map and exporting back to world machine, adding details on that piece (4k x 2k), then exporting back to photoshop again to place that (1/400th) piece back in place on the full resolution heightmap.

Would the tiling feature cut down on all of that extra work or is that the only way to accomplish what Im trying to do?

Yes it would! Instead of having to slice it up, you would add the details in WM itself, so build up your world to full spec, and then, the tiled building will slice up your world, render each tile separately, and then in the end you can either stitch it together yourself or let WM do it for you. Most often, people want to do it themselves, but if you’ll have to stitch 400 tiles, I can see you may want to automate that :stuck_out_tongue: .

Did this info help?